Facebook has just rolled out a large update changing the way its user privacy setting are controlled, together with some new features that every Facebook user
should be aware of. The latest update brings large amount of tweaks to
the privacy settings but the major changes include: Inline Profile
controls, Profile Tag Review, Content Tag Review, View Profile As,
Inline Sharing Controls and Tag anyone.
The new update now include a feature for users who are tagged in a
post, within a photograph or video, to now have the option to confirm or
remove their identity before it appears on their profile. To help user
understand the major changes a little better Facebook has released a
video demonstrating the new update to their privacy settings which can
be viewed after the jump.
Inline Profile controls: Content on your profile,
from your hometown to your latest photo album, will appear next to an
icon and a drop-down menu. This inline menu lets you know who can see
this part of your profile, and you can change it with one click.
Profile Tag Review: You can choose to use the new
tool to approve or reject any photo or post you are tagged in before
it’s visible to anyone else on your profile.
Content Tag Review: You have the option to review and approve or reject any tag someone tries to add to your photos and posts.
View Profile As: This tool is now on the top of your profile where it’s easier to access.
Inline Sharing Controls: The control for who can see
each post will be right inline. For each audience, there is now an icon
and label to help make it easier to understand and decide who you’re
sharing with. Also, when you tag someone, the audience label will
automatically update to show that the person tagged and their friends
can see the post.
Tag Anyone: Now you can tag anyone in a post; not just the people you’re friends with.
More details on all the privacy changes within Facebook can be found here.